Submitted by Brittany Tate

After receiving an official charter in 2016, the Theta Iota Chapter of Phi Beta Delta held its first induction ceremony and reception on April 27 in the Campus Center of College of Coastal Georgia, welcoming 30 new members into the prestigious honor society for international scholars. Phi Beta Delta was founded at California State University, Long Beach, in 1986. The organization recognizes and promotes scholarly achievement in international education.

Three members from the Robert S. Abbott Race Unity Institute- Ethel Daniels, past president; LaTonya Abbott-Austin, board member- were inducted as honorary members for their significant contributions in fostering relationships between people the community, as well as their ongoing support of international education initiatives at the College of Coastal Georgia. In addition to the Abbott Institute inductees, Lance Toland, owner of Lance Toland Associates, and community philanthropist, was recognized for his support of international education throughout his career — most recently helping develop a collaborative partnership between the college and Anguilla.

President Greg Aloia, Provost Tracy Pellett and Interim Dean of the School of Arts & Sciences Victor Vega were also recognized and offered membership into the Theta Iota Chapter for their unwavering commitment in supporting international students, encouraging domestic students to pursue education abroad, and promoting the efforts of faculty and staff who engage in international research and service.

Dr. James “Jim” Lynch, interim director of international education, director of institutional effectiveness and founder of the Theta Iota Chapter of Phi Beta Delta at the college, delivered the keynote address.

New student inductees included Alexis Bell, business administration; Alexandria Bozza, psychology; Ashley Britt, health information; Emily Brown, psychology; Lisa Colon, psychology; Lauren Crutchfield, psychology; Adam Jackson, American studies; Derek Jackson, American studies; Dalton Stanford, American studies; Ashma Sapkota, psychology and Tyler Vaughn, psychology.

New faculty and staff inductees included Tyler Bagwell, communications; Carla Bluhm, psychology; Brittany Garcia, student affairs; Orsolya Kolozsvari, sociology; James Lynch, international education; Ntungwa Maasha, physics and geology; Jane Mortier, Spanish; Lisa Noetzel, modern languages; Brian Pope, psychology; Josh Proctor, business affair; Patrizia Stahle, history and Connie Toler, international education.

Students were inducted who demonstrated academic excellence, completed a study abroad program and/or participated in international educational activities, while faculty and staff were recognized for their demonstrated interest and involvement in international scholarly activities, including publications in international journals, presentations in international forums, research involving an international dimension, and assistance in the development of international partnerships.